The 8th edition of the BC Children's Hospital Pediatric Drug Dosage Guidelines is updated and revised thanks to the many pharmacists and physicians who contributed their time and expertise. Many new monographs have been added and several have been deleted, due either to obsolescence or unavailability. Changes with this new edition include the addition of references for the neonatal monographs and addition of the last reviewed date to the pediatric monographs.

The drug monographs and practice recommendations contained in this book reflect the current practices at BC Children's Hospital. Drug information evolves constantly as a result of ongoing research and clinical experience. It is subject to interpretation. Every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of drug dosages and associated information. It is the responsibility of the prescriber to evaluate the appropriateness of a particular recommendation in each situation. The information and dosage guidelines reflect the general practice guidelines at BCCH, which is a tertiary care and teaching hospital, and may not be suitable for all settings in which children may be treated. This book is intended as a quick reference for healthcare providers familiar with pediatric treatment. Other references should be consulted for those who are unfamiliar with the drug or disease. The authors, editors, reviewers, contributors and publishers cannot be responsible for the continued currency of the information or for any errors, omissions or for how this information is applied to individual patients.

Most of the content of this book can be found on the PHSA POD. Updates to monographs and guidelines following publication of the print edition will be found here.

The editor wishes to thank all the pharmacists and physicians who wrote, revised, reviewed or otherwise contributed to this 8th edition; their time and knowledge is greatly appreciated.

The dosing handbook was started in 1993 with a grant from the Children's Miracle Network Telethon and has been more or less self-sustaining ever since. Ms. Roberta Esau served as editor until 2018, with the publication of the 7th edition. We would like to thank her for her significant contributions.

Dr. Jennifer Kendrick, Editor
Dr. Ran Goldman, Chairperson, Pharmacy, Therapeutics and Nutrition Committee.

Previous Editions:
First Edition: 1993
Second Edition: 1995/96
Third Edition: 1999/2000
Fourth Edition: 2002/2003
Fifth Edition: 2006/2007
Sixth Edition: 2011
Sixth Edition, 2nd printing: 2013
Seventh Edition: 2018
Seventh Edition, 2nd printing: 2019
Eighth Edition: 2022

Copyright 2022 by the Department of Pharmacy
Children's & Women's Health Centre of British Columbia
All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without the prior written permission of:

Department of Pharmacy
Children's & Women's Health Centre of British Columbia
4480 Oak Street
Vancouver, B.C. V6H 3V4


The following individuals provided valuable assistance in the preparation and review of this publication and their input is gratefully acknowledged.

Ms. Iona Berger Dr. Roxane Carr
Ms. Eva Cho Dr. Dean Elbe
Dr. Katie Haubrich Ms. Sharon Ho
Ms. Sonia Jeffries Dr. Jennifer Kendrick
Dr. Natasha Kwan Ms. Sarah Leung
Ms. Alison MacDonald Mr. Matthew Morrison
Ms. Charmaine Ngo Dr. Vanessa Paquette
Dr. Shane Pawluk Ms. Nicole Primus
Ms. Laura Rozka Ms. Joanie Shew
Dr. Kendra Sih Dr. Jason Tan
Dr. Stacey Tkachuk Mr. Kelvin Won
Ms. Sandra Yin
Medical Staff
Dr. Kathryn Armstrong Dr. Mark Belletrutti
Dr. Tyler Black Dr. Tom Blydt-Hansen
Dr. Linda Casey Dr. Michael Castaldo
Dr. Melissa Chan Dr. Ryan Chan
Dr. Mark Chilvers Ms. Erika Crilly
Dr. F. DelaCruz Dr. Janis Dionne
Dr. Isaac Elias Dr. Jane Gardiner
Dr. Ran Goldman Dr. Sim Grewal
Dr. Orlee Guttman Dr. Jess Halparin
Dr. Erika Henkelman Dr. Kristin Houghton
Dr. Martin Hosking Dr. Linda Huh
Dr. Derek Human Dr. Sally Hynes
Dr. Kevin Jacobsen Dr. Pavan Judge
Dr. Ashok Kakadekar Dr. Fred Kozak
Dr. Gill Lauder Dr. Sally Lawrence
Dr. Amanda Li Dr. Christopher Lyons
Dr. Andrew MacNeily Dr. Tom McLaughlin
Dr. Cherry Mammen Dr. Garth Meckler
Dr. Dan Metzger Dr. Debra Millar
Dr. Ram Mishaal Dr. Srin Murthy
Dr. Horacio Osiovich Dr. Wingfield Rehmus
Dr. Randa Ridgway Dr. Ashley Roberts
Dr. Jacob Rozmus Dr. R. Salvarinova
Dr. Shu Sanatani Dr. Laura Sauve
Dr. Peter Skippen Dr. Tatiana Sotindjo
Dr. Sylvia Stockler Dr. Caron Strahlendorf
Dr. Mumtaz Virji Dr. Connie Yang
Dr. Li Wang Dr. Mike Winters

To order print copies: please download this order form.